Gestión del Geoparque

Comité Educativo y Científico

Geoparque Villuercas > THE GeoparK > MANAGEMENT OF THE GEOPARK > Educational and scientific committee

The Educational and Scientific Committee (Comité Educativo y Científico, CEC) is an advisory body in the scientific and educational field of the Geopark. Its members may inform about or take an active part in activities such as the following:

  • Promoting scientific studies to improve or protect the geological, natural, or cultural values of the Geopark or its social and economic development.
  • Giving scientific visibility by means of publications, seminars, and events of a scientific nature.
  • Guaranteeing the educational project of the Geopark.
  • Defining the protection criteria of the Geopark and proposing the compilation of the geological heritage of Villuercas-Ibores-Jara.

    The members of the Committee are as follows:

  • Dr Teodoro Palacios Medrano. Geologist. Lecturer at the University of Extremadura.
  • José María Barrera Martín-Merás. Biologist. Cáceres County Council.
  • Juan Gil Montes. Geologist. Geological Association of Extremadura.
  • Dr Susana Schnabel. Geographer. Lecturer of the Universidad of Extremadura.
  • Pedro Muñoz Barco. Geologist. General Director of the Environment. Regional Government of Extremadura.
  • Javier López Caballero. Geographer. APRODERVI. Lecturer at the University of Extremadura.
  • Fernando Durán Oliva. Biologist. Secondary School Teacher.
  • Jesús M. Vázquez Domínguez. Fine Arts. Secondary School Teacher.
  • Dr José Julio García Arranz. Archaeologist. Lecturer at the University of Extremadura.
  • Eduardo Rebollada. Geologist. Regional Government of Extremadura.
  • Dr María Teresa de Tena Rey. Geologist. Lecturer at the University of Extremadura.
  • Dr Sören Jensen. Palaeontologist. Lecturer at the University of Extremadura.
  • Dr Iván Cortijo Sánchez. Palaeontologist. Team of the Geopark.
  • Dr Isabel Rábano Gutiérrez del Arroyo. Palaeontologist. Spanish Geological and Mining Institute.
  • Dr. Juan Carlos Gutiérrez Marco. Palaeontologist. Geoscience Institute, Council for Scientific Research (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, CSIC)
  • Francisco Fernández de la Llave. Geologist. Public Works.
  • José Antonio Montero. Agronomist. Companies.